Wirefly

Reviews
Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect Demo

Wirefly Learn » Reviews

March 11th, 2011

Atom RSS2 RSS

Approximately 70 percent of American homes have a traditional wired land-line phone, and a large number of these households also have cell phone accounts. Some people are concerned about cutting the cord to the home phone, thinking that a cell phone is just not as reliable as an old-fashioned twisted-pair desk phone.

Verizon Wireless took a look at the problem and came up with the Home Phone Connect – a way to use your desk phone just as you always have, with the kind of reliability you expect from a traditional wired phone. However, the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect actually connects using cellular technology, which means you can add the device to your existing wireless plan inexpensively, and eliminate the higher monthly cost of a standard wired home phone.

The Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect has two connectors on the back that are compatible with standard desk/wall phones. The keys to solving the reliability puzzle include a high-gain antenna and an upgraded cellular transmitter, which is much more powerful than a typical cell phone’s transmitter. With the higher-performance antenna and more powerful internals, the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect can punch through when a typical cell phone might drop the call.

With the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect, you use your home phone as you always have: Pick it up and get a dial tone, then dial the call and hear the standard Touch-Tone beeps. You receive calls just as you always have, and your desk phone will ring in the same way that it’s done for years. You can even connect the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect to your home’s internal phone wiring, as long as you disconnect your home’s internal wiring from the land-line wire now leading to your home.

One other interesting capability of the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect is that you can travel with it. If you take two weeks at the beach every year, you can pack the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect with you and have your home phone number at the beach cottage. Likewise, you can use it at a second home or any other location where you get Verizon Wireless reception – where ever the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect is, that’s where your home phone is. This “home phone” flexibility will definitely appeal to some people. Take a look at the video to the above-right to see the Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect and how it operates.

The Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect will be available at a great price from Wirefly.

Related posts:

  1. Verizon Home Phone Connect Overview (New Version)
  2. Verizon Home Phone Connect (Version 2) Unboxing and Review
  3. Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect F256 Manual
  4. CES 2010: Video demo of ZOMM Wireless Cell Phone Leash

87 Responses to “Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect Demo”

  • richard p
    April 17, 2012

    We tried this service and it was a complete failure, ended up costing us money to go back to AT&T. Even though we get good cell phone service from Verizon, home phone connect kept dropping calls. Friends would tell us that they could not get through. “What on earth is wrong with your home phone?” was a line we got tired of hearing. And the sound quality was awful, even when it did connect. Verizon should never have released this sub-par product.

  • We tried this system earlier this year and it was a total bust. Although our cell phones work fine on Verizon in our home, home phone connect kept dropping calls, people couldn’t get through to us, and the sound quality was awful when they did. After mucking about for two weeks with Verizon’s tech people, we finally had to give up and go back to AT&T. Save yourself a hassle and stay away from this.

  • Bill Delorme
    March 31, 2012

    How do I retrieve my messages I don’t have an instruction booklet

    • Bill, messages are not saved on the Verizon Home Phone Connect (HPC) itself — they are saved by Verizon before they get to the HPC. You need to contact Verizon and ask how you retrieve messages from your Verizon account.

      Good luck!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • I received,hooked up and activated my HPC this past Friday and thought I was having zero issues until it was brought to my attention today. Anyone that is trying to call me that has optimum phone service can’t. When an optimum customer calls my home number, they hear a message of ” the call can not be completed as dialed ” All Verizon calls come through without issue,I am unsure if any other carrier would be an issue. I have contacted Verizon,they advised me to have the optimum customers contact optimum (which is a little absurd, I live in Long Island, NY where 9 out of 10 ppl have optimum and I can’t begin calling all my contacts to advise them of such) my mother,being an opt cust,called optimum,they called me and stated “we’re working on it,but have never heard of this issue” I simply would like peace of mind that my family can contact me whenever needed/wanted, hopefully there is a resolution I can be advised of.

    • Tara, that problem is news to me. I have never heard anything about calling issues with Optimum. Can people with Optimum accounts call people with Verizon cell phones? That would be exactly the same thing as calling the Home Phone Connect (HPC), as the HPC is actually a cell phone in disguise. However, I have never heard of any operator having problems calling any other operator — you will have to work that one through Optimum and Verizon.

      FWIW, there is also a Sprint Home Phone Connect. You could stop at a Sprint store and check to see if it works with incoming Optimum calls. If it works, port your number over to the Sprint HPC and use it.

      Good luck!

      Bob at Wirefly

      • Everything is now up and working properly, all calls are coming through okay as of today. I’m pretty sure that the customer service reps that handled my questions were just simply unaware of a waiting period in order to fully change my home number over to the HPC,another rep probably would have been able to advise me the correct information. With all of that being said, so far I’m a happy camper :)
        Thank you for your help.

  • Just purchased the Home Phone Connect. I sent the forward feature to route to my cell phone and it works great. Question though, Is there a way to set it so it shows my home phone connect number on my cell phone rather than the person calling? I’m try to have business numbers forward and want to be able to distinguish my personal and business calls. Is that possible?

    Thanks

    • Matt, as far as I know, the Home Phone Connect can not be set to show you the number of a forwarded call. Seems like that would be an excellent feature, but it is not in the current version of the Home Phone Connect.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • Is it possible to connect my dialup internet service to the home phone connect?

    • Byron, no I don’t think you can use the Home Phone Connect for dial-up data connectivity. The Home Phone Connect says that it will not work with fax machines, which means to me that it will not work with a dial-up modem in your computer. Fax machines and dial-up models use the same technology.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • I just got this unit ( HPC ) tonight . They activated it and i just plugged it into 1 of my 3 house phone jacks. The other 2 are still connected to the wall jacks . I have dial tone on the 3 phones connected to the base unit I plugged in to but they won’t ring ( only the base unit rings . I think I will need to connect to the wall jack and disconnect the house wiring to the outside as you suggested to a few people here . Other wise I would have to run a phone wire all the way from one of the other 2 lines all the way back to my office where the HPC is . With only 3 plugs on the back , I can’t plug all 3 of my house lines anyways I look at it so my only course of action would be to do that : ” Plug into wall jack — leave all the other lines alone as they are now — then go outside and disconnect the outside line coming in . Thanks for your help here Bob

    • Larry, you’re welcome! Yes, you really should disconnect the line outside the house, or else you will be feeding your phone signal out to the pole and perhaps all the way to your phone company. Once disconnected outside the house, check to see if your other phones ring. Obviously, make sure the ringers are switched on. They should ring, although the Home Phone Connect has a limit to the number of phones that it can make ring. (That limit depends on the power required by the phones’ ringers, so there is no specific numbers of phones.)

      Anyway, happy new year and enjoy your Home Phone Connect!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • We recently (2 weeks ago) purchased the HomePhone Connect from Verizon and had them port our Verizon landline phone number to the new device. They made the process sound simple and fast. After they finally got it working, we found that our calls were dropped approximately 30 seconds in each time. I made another call to Verizon Wireless and they suggested we move the unit away from our Verizon Network Extender. That seemed to work for a while, but a day or two later our calls started getting dropped again. They last a few minutes, but then dropped. This is so frustrating! What can we do?

    • Teresa, it sounds like you bought this from Verizon, so you should contact Verizon for a replacement or service. If you got your Home Phone Connect from Wirefly, please give me your order number and we’ll take it from there.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • charleslawson
    December 17, 2011

    I got a Verizon Wireless Home Phone Connect and hooked my phone to it. When I check my phone, it says my mailbox is full. Also, my friend when he calls it goes straight to voicemail. How do you get messages out of mailbox?

    • Charles, the voicemail box is provided by Verizon and it is not a feature of the Home Phone Connect. You need to call your mailbox, retrieve your messages and clear out all the messages. If you don’t know how to do that, stop at a Verizon store and ask for help.

      It is possible that your Home Phone Connect is not working properly. Once you clean up your voicemail box, see if callers still go directly to your voicemail. If they do, then there might be a problem with your Home Phone Connect. If that is the case, again, take it to a Verizon store and have it checked. Before you do that, make sure the phone you have connected to the Home Phone Connect is working properly.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • There are 2 things I would like to know if it is possible to do with home connect. It would involve getting new phones that would have the features of a cell phone. My bill says home connect includes unlimited text messaging, but there’s no way to do that with any landline type phone that I know of. Also, when a call is coming in and the phone gives the call waiting tone, you can’t tell who is calling, like you could on a cell phone. That would be nice. Any chance of those options becoming available or any phone you know of that could plug into this that can already do those two things? Thank you.

    • Suz, I haven’t heard anything about the Home Phone Connect being updated to include texting and call waiting/caller ID. You might be better off asking Verizon directly about that… if they hear from enough customers, Verizon may add the features.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • Jacqueline O. Chaplin
    December 4, 2011

    My mother needed phone service, and after many years of feeling ripped off by ATT, I got her Home Connect. It is excellent and the price is right.

  • Bob, can you use bluetooth with the home phone connect?

    • Michele, no, bluetooth doesn’t work with Home Phone Connect. There probably are some cordless phones with bluetooth that work with Home Phone Connect, and you can plug one of those into an HPC. But the HPC itself will not work with bluetooth.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • I purchased the Verizon home phone a week ago. The dial toneis a muffled beeping noise and occasionally while during a phone call I can hear a lil crackle. The other person doesn’t hear it at all. How safe is this Verizon home phone connect for say to do banking on them?

    • c, make sure that your Verizon Home Phone Connect is not attached to the the phone company’s wired line to your house. Plug a single phone into the Home Phone Connect and disconnect all other connections. Do you still have the problem with an “off-sounding” dial tone? If so, then it sounds like your Verizon Home Phone Connect is not working properly. If you got it from Wirefly, call immediately to coordinate getting it replaced. If you got it somewhere else, then work with that vendor.

      As for the security of using the Home Phone Connect, it uses the exact same technology as your cell phone. You can be as confident discussing information on the Home Phone Connect as you are on your cell phone.

      Bob at Wirefly

    • rothenbj
      October 16, 2011

      I got my Home Phone Connect on Friday and they said it would take a few days to port the number from Verizon to Verizon Wireless. It would seem that the conversion could be easier and not inconvenience you for 5 days, but by the time I got home the land line was dead. Perhaps some animosity between V & VW with the customer in the middle.

      No problem. I hooked up the HPC, pulled the wires from the base wireless unit of my DECT 6.0 system and plugged it in and got nothing but some static and no dial tone. Hopefully someone here can confirm that the HPC works with the DECT 6.0 phones and maybe something I might not have done correctly, but that’s still an issue.

      After finding one corded phone laying around the house and still not getting a dial tone, I figured there was something wrong with the HPC or I didn’t have a clue what I was doing. I decided to run to mom’s house where I knew she had at least one corded phone still in operation. Success, a dial tone and a *228 later and I had a working HPC. I also found that the corded phone I had was dead and her Vtech 6.0 wireless phones didn’t work in the HPC either. However she had a 2.8 ghz wireless which also worked fine so she lent it to me until I get the Vtech issue resolved.

      I still can’t receive calls until Tuesday they say, but I’m hoping someone here can resolve my DECT 6.0 issue.

      • Rothenbj, your DECT 6.0 phones should work fine with the Verizon Home Phone Connect. Those phones use completely different frequencies than Verizon’s cellular service and they shouldn’t interfere with each other. If your (and your mom’s) DECT 6.0 phones are working properly with a standard wired phone line, they should work fine with the HPC. That’s the only advice I have.

        Bob at Wirefly

        • rothenbj
          October 17, 2011

          Thanks Bob, I felt the same way, but since it didn’t work on both, there seems to be a different issue. I still need to wait for the total conversion I guess, but I’m wondering if there is a problem with the unit I received.

          • Rothenbj, it’s always possible that the Home Phone Connect unit you received is defective. I guess you’ll know for sure when it gets activated.

            Bob at Wirefly

          • rothenbj
            October 18, 2011

            Issue resolved, sort of. It was the Vtech CS6329-3 DECT 6.0 wireless phones that had a compatibility issue. Both a Panasonic (which I bought) and a Uniden worked on my HPC unit, but the VTechs did not. I have a support question addressing the issue in to VTech now.

          • Rothenbj, interesting… thanks for following up!

            Bob at Wirefly

      • rothenbj
        October 20, 2011

        The response from VTech-

        “Thank you for your recent inquiry to our Consumer Sales and Service Center. Please keep the original e-mail attached to our response in case further assistance is needed.

        Please be informed that our phones are designed to work with traditional phone connections. Non-traditional phone connections such as VOIP, MagicJack, etc., are not guaranteed to work with our phones.

        Thank you for contacting VTech.”

        I suppose they are designing phones for the dinosaurs.

        • Rothenbj, interesting… thanks! I wonder what the difference is between VTech’s products that phones from other companies? As more people drop their traditionall home phone lines, the market for these cordless phones will melt away. At least the Home Phone Connect will keep the market alive longer.

          Bob at Wirefly

          • rothenbj
            October 28, 2011

            One final follow up. I own a second home in VA so I took them there thinking they may work on that system. VOIP was a negative also. I guess they’ll only work on land lines. I can’t say all VTech phones were designed this way, but it will be the last I use them.

            Fortunately my 92 year old mother has land lines and will have for the duration. This will enable me to provide her with phones in every room in the house (that she uses). Not a total loss.

          • Thanks for the follow up! It’s surprising to hear that at least one model of VTech phone will not work with the Verizon Home Phone Connect… weird!

            Bob at Wirefly

  • I need help deciding… Ooma or Verizon Home phone connect. Ooma’s upfront charges discourages me from buying it but the $3.74 a month is great. So this or Ooma?

    • Torie, if you have an existing Verizon Wireless line (for a cell phone, for example), you can add the line for the Verizon Home Phone Connect for as little as $9.99 per month. I’ll let you crunch the numbers and decide which will work best for you.

      One feature that I like about Home Phone Connect that you don’t get with Ooma is that you can take the Home Phone Connect with you on vacation and always have your home phone. Let’s say you go to the beach every year for a couple of weeks. You can take the Home Phone Connect with you and have your home phone handy. Not everyone needs or wants that feature, but I like it.

      Bob at Wirefly

      • Thats silly. Most people have cell phones for mobility and home phoens for stability. Nobody needs to bring a home phone with them when they have a cell phone. Get ooma especially if you plan on keeping a ISP, it will be cheaper in the end no doubt about it. The sound quality is very good too.

  • Does the Verizon home phone connect have better service than a cell phone? Where I live, my Verizon iPhone has slight service, but will get broken off at least once a day, my wife’s Verizon cosmos has really bad service and gets cut off at least once every phone call. I bought the network extender, and it help improve cell service, but the quality is still unbearable if I am trying to hold a conversation. I am paying way too much for land-line service right now, and I have a pile of unused Verizon minutes. Would the bigger antenna on this device mean it has better call quality than a cell phone?
    Thanks so much for your help.

    • JMH, the Verizon Home Phone Connect should have a *little* better reception, since it has a larger antenna than a cell phone and it can transmit with more power.Does your home have a second floor, and iIs your Verizon reception better there? If so, you can install the Home Phone Connect on the second floor and feed the wiring in your house from there. If you don’t have a second floor, perhaps there is a window where you can place the Home Phone Connect where it will get the most reliable reception.

      That’s about the best I can suggest… good luck!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • curtis wright
    October 5, 2011

    my home phone connect want ring if you pick it up with the call coming in it works it goes to voise mail if dont answer

  • Hi. My family recently moved to a town in Colorado called Castle Rock. The only providers I can find for phone and internet are Comcast and Qwest, both which I am finding to be very expensive (probably because they have the market all wrapped up). I already have Verizon Wireless Phone Service (cell phone) and I am looking to add the home phone connect which eliminates the need for my broadband phone. I was wondering if you have any suggestions on something that is compatible that would replace the internet I currently have as well. I use the internet to surf the web, some e-mail for work as well as to stream netflix to the TV’s (and rarely to download music, etc.). Any suggstions would be very helpful, I need to cut down the cost and we can live without regular TV.

    Thanks so much….

    • Shelly, your question is somewhat complicated, so let me see if I can figure it out.

      First, Verizon Home Phone Connect does not “…eliminate the need for my broadband phone.” Home Phone Connect replaces a traditional wired home phone. If you now have a traditional wired home phone from the local phone company (Qwest?), you can replace that with Verizon’s Home Phone Connect. You will need to add a wireless phone line for the Home Phone Connect, and your current home phone number can be ported over to the Home Phone Connect. The Home Phone Connect then works just like a standard home phone line, except that it will not work with a fax machine or home security service that requires a phone line.

      As for broadband Internet service, your best bet may be to consider Sprint. Of the major wireless companies, only Sprint has unlimited data service, which you will need because of your movie streaming. In fact, movie streaming requires a fast and consistent data stream, which may ultimately be impossible from a wireless service such as Sprint’s. One option may be getting broadband service from a Sprint partner called “Clear.” Clear offers a “4G” wireless broadband data service that will work for you — if it’s available at your home. Contact Clear to see if it offers wireless broadband data in your area.

      One other thought: If you live close to a neighbor who has data service from Comcast, perhaps you can pay your neighbor to connect to his/her WiFi router. If you neighbor gets Comcast data, perhaps $30 per month might get you the password to the WiFi router. You may need to upgrade the router to one that has a stronger/more-reliable WiFi signal. And you better be on good terms with your neighbor! Just a thought…

      Other than selling you a Verizon Home Phone Connect, I don’t see how Wirefly can help you. However, I hope this helps in your search for phone and data service.

      Good luck!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • My family has one of these units. When a phone is connected to it directly it works great. I went outside and disconected the line from the phone company, and plugged the unit into the wall jack and I get nothing. Verizon Wireless says they don’t support connecting to a wall jack and won’t offer any advice beyond that you must disconnect from the phone company. Any ideas on why this dosen’t work for me?

    • Travis, it sounds like you’ve done all the right things. Two things that I suggest:

      1. Try a different cable between the Home Phone Connect and the wall jack.
      2. Disconnect everything in the house that is now plugged into telephone wall jacks. With the Home Phone Connect attached to a wall jack, re-connect the other devices one by one to see if they work. There may be one device that you have plugged in now that won’t work with the Home Phone Connect for some reason, and this procedure will isolate that device.

      Hope that helps!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • jesse brown
    September 15, 2011

    hey my girlfriends mom bought this to upgrade her cell phone at home since her cell has bad reception at her house. im not sure what this does or what she thought it did but what happened was she is now being charged by verizon wireless and her verizon home phone company and the device messed up her dial up internet also. when she called to find out why she is being charged twice they gave her they couldnt access verizon to see why the home phone is charging her and demeaned her for having dial up internet. now she is totally flustered by it and doesnt know what to do to fix it. is she supposed to cancel her home phone? and what about the internet? and they have her locked in on a 3 year plan and it was supposed to make it cheaper for her so some help would be nice

    • Jesse, the Verizon Home Phone Connect is a terrific device but it’s easy to be confused about what it does and how it works. First, the Home Phone Connect is not a booster for cell phones. If you get a weak signal on your cell phones at home, the Home Phone Connect will not help you.

      The purpose of the Home Phone Connect is to replace a standard wired home phone line. For the Home Phone Connect to work, it needs to have a cellular account, and this is why you are being charged for cellular service for the Home Phone Connect. It sounds like your girlfriend’s mom is paying for the Home Phone Connect, paying for her regular cell phone, and paying for a standard wired home phone line. Most people discontinue their old-fashioned wired home phone line and use the Home Phone Connect in its place — that is what the Home Phone Connect is designed to do. If you connect the Home Phone Connect to a telephone wall jack and the home still has wired telephone service, the two services will interfere with each other. That sounds like what is happening with your girlfriend’s mom.

      If your girlfriend’s mom just wants to get better cell reception in her home, there are a couple ways to do it. The easiest way is to get something called a “femtocell,” which connects to high-speed Internet service. If your girlfriend’s mom has high-speed Internet service. Verizon calls its femtocell the “3G Network Extender,” and it will allow several people to make calls at once in the same home. However, it requires that you already have high-speed Internet service such as DSL or cable modem service.

      If your girlfriend’s mom doesn’t have high-speed Internet, then you need something called a cellular booster or repeater. I use one at my rural home and it works well. I have an antenna outside on the chimney and this feeds a small box in the house. If I’m within range of the box, I can get cellular service for both phone calls and 3G data. However, a repeater takes some installation effort and skill. Of course, there are costs to buy either a femtocell or a cellular repeater, although they usually do not have any monthly recurring costs.

      This is all a little complicated, so I hope this helps. It sounds like your girlfriend’s mom absolutely does not need a Verizon Home Phone Connect, so I hope she can return it. Of course, she could always discontinue her traditional wired phone line and just use the Home Phone Connect… that’s what it is meant to do.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • bkovacs wrote:
    “…Verizon’s statement that the Home Phone Connect will not work with… security systems”

    and

    “…Verizon Home Phone Connect has an analog telephone adapter built inside…”

    How the VHPC could faithfully emulate an analog telephone connection and still not support a device designed to work over such a connection puzzles me greatly. Can anybody elaborate? Is this a real technical limitation, or is it just Verizon’s lawyers washing their hands of a potential liability? The only reasonable technical explanation I can imagine (but not assert) is that VHPC emulates the *electrical* characteristics of an analog line without guaranteeing *signal* characteristics (phasing? bandwidth? lossy compression? time shift?) sufficiently compatible for analog modems.

    • David, those are excellent questions and I wish I knew the answer. I had the Verizon Home Phone Connect for only a short time for testing, and didn’t get a chance to test it with a fax machine. I agree that working with security systems, fax machines and health monitoring devices would be a major benefit for something like the VHPC. However, I also wanted to be sure that readers were aware of Verizon’s position on the operation of the VHPC.

      I’m a technical guy and my assumption that there would be an unacceptable number of errors in the process of a fax machine (for example) converting data to analog tones, then the VHPC converting those tones back to data and compressing it for transmission over Verizon’s network. I have not tested it, though. I hope to be able to test this in the future but I don’t have a time frame for that.

      Thanks for asking these interesting questions, however!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • Can I put a larger antenna on the base unit to maybe get it to hold the singal longer it keeps going between the two signal strengths.

    • Tom, the antenna is easy to attach, so it should be easy to swap with another antenna. The problem is finding the correct antenna for Verizon’s spectrum and the Home Phone Connect. If you can locate a better antenna somewhere and ensure it has the right connector, you can swap it in a few seconds with no damage done.

      Bob at Wirefly

      • paulette
        August 29, 2011

        I got the Home Phone Connect a couple weeks ago and wonder if you would address 2 things for me:

        1. Is there a way to improve the sound quality?

        2. Only 1 of lights is on for the signal strength. Anything I can do to improve that?

        Thanks!

        • Much of the sound quality is determined by the phone that you plug into the Home Phone Connect. Some phones sound better than others, so try a different phone. Maybe you can borrow a phone from a neighbor or friend to try it out.

          As fof signal strength, one light indicates you are getting a usable signal. Sound quality won’t improve with more lights (higher signal strength). However, you can try moving the Home Phone Connect to a different location to see if the reception (signal strength) is better there. Keep in mind that the Home Phone Connect uses the same technology as a cell phone. Where ever a Verizon cell phone works best in your home, that’s where the Home Phone Connect will work best. If you have an upstairs floor, try it there. It might work better in front of a window, so try that.

          Hope that helps!

          Bob at Wirefly

      • You are the expert. What are the specs that would be needed to attach a larger antenna to the base station, and where would one purchase such an antenna? Would a CB antenna work (the connector looks similar)? Or does it require a antenna designed specifically to be used with Home Connect?

        • You definitely can’t use a CB antenna with the Home Phone Connect — the Citizen’s Band (CB) service and the frequencies that Verizon uses are very different.

          I found this external antenna for the Home Phone Connect on the Internet:

          External Antenna

          This kit is for an antenna that can withstand being installed outside a home, but it will also work indoors. FWIW, I have something similar at my home in the mountains in order to get reliable cell phone service at the house… I’ve had it for a couple of years and it works well. I installed mine on a pole attached to the home’s chimney.

          Keep in mind that Wirefly doesn’t sell or recommend the antenna at that link. I posted it there for your convenience and otherwise know nothing about that product. I can’t recommend (or not recommend) that antenna.

          Bob at Wirefly

  • This service is of totally subpar quality. Shame on Verizon.
    1. Many times the call is disconnected. And I had dial the same number many times to make a call.
    2. You cannot disable voice mail feature. I wanted to use my phone’s answering function, which tells if there is a message.
    3.Caller ID shows only the number, not the name of the caller, which makes the feature useless. This is a fraud!
    4. Also Caller ID is not shown and no indication of any message after a caller left messages.
    5. One day, I could not make a call. When I pick up the phone, there was a signal but on dialing numbers, nothing happens on the phone. Just no sound at all.
    6. This does not support Fax which was not warned beforehand.

  • We installed the Home phone connect 8 days ago. A problem we are having is that for some of the numbers we call we get a message saying that the phone number being called is not available. I can call that same number on my Verizon cell phone and get through.
    An additional problem is that I can call some numbers on one phone but not from the other two phones in the house although there is a dial tone and it does place some calls.
    How can I fix this problem?

    • Gene, it sounds like you’re having a couple of different problems. First of all, it sounds like you have the Verizon Home Phone Connect plugged into your home’s phone wiring. Is that correct? If so, you MUST disconnect your phone line from feeding the phone company, which means that you have to disconnect a cable in the phone interface box. This is usually on the outside of your home, near where power and cable TV wires enter your home. There should be a phone interconnect box there that connects the telephone company’s wires to your home’s internal wires. You need to open that box and disconnect the cable from its jack. It’s really easy. Until you disconnect this, you are feeding your Home Phone Connect signals out over the phone company’s wiring and it could be causing at least some of the problems you’re having.

      Disconnect the Home Phone Connect for all phones and house wiring. Plug one phone directly into the Home Phone Connect. Do you still have any problems? Or does it work fine? Since the Home Phone Connect is actually a Verizon cell phone, it should work with any number you can call with a Verizon cell phone. If the first phone you try works fine, try another — always plugging it directly into the Home Phone Connect with nothing else attached. If it works, then that’s good. If it has issues, then that phone may be causing problems.

      I hope this helps!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • cdpdee
    July 28, 2011

    Can you please elaborate on how to connect without plugging the phone(s) into the unit? I have cordless as well as a corded phone in my home and was nstructed to plug into my phone box in my basement, with no instructions to disconnect anything outside my home.
    Thanks in advance, and the video was really helpful

    • cdpdee, the Verizon Home Phone Connect has two physical phone jacks on the back. For your phone to work, it must be plugged into one of those phone jacks. In the case of your cordless phone, you have to plug the cordless phone’s base station into the Home Phone Connect.

      An easy way to connect all the phones in your home is to plug the Home Phone Connect into an existing wall phone jack, and the wiring inside the walls of your home will distribute the phone signal to all the phones that are plugged in. The problem with this is that these same wires lead to an interface box outside your home where the phone company connects. If you don’t disconnect that interface point, you will feed your phone signals out to the local phone company. Noise on that line might interfere with the operation of your wired phones. So the thing to do is to locate the interface box (usually outside the house where wires enter for phone, cable TV and power), open the “customer” side of the box and unplug the cable inside. That’s all you have to do: Unpug the cable and that breaks the circuit to the phone company. And you only have to do that if you plug the Home Phone Connect into your home’s phone wiring. If all you do is plug a phone directly into the Home Phone Connect, then you don’t have to worry about disconnecting the external interface box.

      Hope that helps!

      Bob at Wirefly

      • what if I want to keep my dsl service and use the home phone connect. If I unplug at the NID, then my copper will not carry the DSL…is this not possible?

        • CJ, in that case, you can’t plug the Home Phone Connect into your home wiring. An alternative would be isolate the DSL to its own line and make sure it is disconnected from the rest of the home’s wiring. Then you can plug in the Home Phone Connect.

          Hope that helps!

          Bob at Wirefly

          • ok, one more ?…what if I just leave the house wired jacks (3 total) for DSL – feeding my wireless router. From the home connect I would plug in a single base station with 3 cordless handheld receivers off of that. The config would be 1. my house wired for DSL and 2.then from the home connect one line to a base that has 3 cordless recievers…(home connect would never touch a wall jack). that sound good to go?

          • CJ, yes, what you describe will work perfectly. You’re golden as long as you don’t plug the Home Phone Connect into a phone outlet.

            Bob at Wirefly

  • Do I need to have a Verizon Wireless cell phone contract to have the Home Phone Connect. Also, is there a 30 day trial in case it doesn’t work well in my home or are you stuck once you purchase it?? I am trying to research this product as I am really interested in having it but want to make sure it will work before investing my time and money. Thank you

    • Linda, yes, you must activate the Verizon Home Phone Connect on Verizon for it to operate at all. It does not have WiFi or any sort of Ethernet connectivity — it connects only through a Verizon Wireless line. And yes, Wirefly’s 30-day satisfaction guaranty applies to the Home Phone Connect. If you are not satisfied with it, you can return it within 30 days.

      Have you seen Wirefly’s video on the Home Phone Connect? That might give you a few answers if you’ve not already seen it. The video is at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWfBttTnnbA.

      Thanks for thinking of Wirefly!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • We got Home Phone Connect last week and have begun to use it. One of our two home phones is pretty old and we will probably replace it. Any recommendations on phones which work particularly well with HPC – especially one that would have bluetooth capability?

  • Teresa
    June 12, 2011

    I wonder what other costs are attached to the bill? (Taxes, fees etc). What is the total bill?

    • Teresa, give Wirefly a call at 800-552-9000 to discuss. With your complete information, the agent should be able to give you the final monthly cost for the Verizon Home Phone Connect. It’s really a neat product, so I hope you follow up to get the info you need.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • thank you. do u see caller id when u get a call

    • Bob, I think you do see Caller ID but I’m just not sure. I no longer have one in-house to test, unfortunately.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • can I get text on a home phone connect?

    • Bob, I don’t think so. The Verizon Home Phone Connect works with a standard home phone, and those kind of phones normally do not have any way to send/receive a text. Interesting question, however!

      Bob at Wirefly

  • If we have a very weak Verizon signal at home and NO landline, can this or any other device be used to boost the cell phone signal?

    • Sorry, debnp, I just saw your comment.

      The Verizon Home Phone Connect does not boost Verizon’s cellular signal. It is an actual cell phone, one that works much like a home phone. If you get reliable reception with a cell phone on an upper floor or in a certain room, then you can position the Home Phone Connect in that location. Then plug a standard corded phone into it (or use a standard wireless phone that plugs into a wall outlet) and you’ll have a “home” line. The Verizon Home Phone Connect does not require a home phone line… in fact, it *replaces* a home phone line.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • We moved our landline phone number to a verizon wireless cell phone in Jan. Can we now use the Home Phone Connect with this number? I realize I may be locked in to the two yr contract with the “home phone” cell phone. But if we paid retail price ($130?) to get the home phone connect box would we be able to use it on the current “home phone” cell phone?

    • Joanie, it sounds like you should be able to move your cellular “home” phone line to the Home Phone Connect. You should call Wirefly at 800-552-9000 and discuss your lines with a phone agent, just to be sure what your options are.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • rosa crews
    April 13, 2011

    can i use a fax machine with this phone

  • I currently have the MiFi for my internet connection bu the signal is weak in my office. Will the Home Phone Connect help at all to boost my MiFi signal? Also I do have Dish Networks which has to stay connected to a phoneline, any chance this will be offered in the future?

    • Jim, the Home Phone Connect will not boost the signal on your MiFi. The Home Phone Connect is a replacement for a standard wired home phone line. It uses a Verizon Wireless signal and it will receive a little more strongly than a regular cell phone. I don’t know if the Home Phone Connect will be updated to allow it to pass data for Dish Network, DirecTV or services such as alarms — you might want to ask Verizon that question.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • cretty
    April 2, 2011

    Is this compatible with direct tv to order movies thru their reciever. Can I use this with a fax machine.

    • Cretty, Verizon says that the Home Phone Connect will not work with fax machines. I want to test this, but no longer have the Home Phone Connect for testing. Verizon also says that the Home Phone Connect will not work with security systems. Based on Verizon’s statement that the Home Phone Connect will not work with fax machines and security systems, you should expect that it will also not work with Dish Network and DirecTV.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • Steven Johnson Johnson
    March 25, 2011

    I would like to purchase the analog telephone adapter (ATA) used for the Home Phone Connect service,
    but use it for a Verizon prepaid service (basically lifeline service for my elderly parent). Is it possible to purchase the ATA
    without a contract, and then use it with a prepaid service? Thanks.

    • Steven, the Verizon Home Phone Connect is a finished device that has an analog telephone adapter built inside. It can’t be removed or separated from the rest of the device. I just spoke to our Home Phone Connect people, who told me that the device is only sold as part of a monthly plan. I know that’s not what you wanted to hear, but now you know.

      Bob at Wirefly

  • daultine
    March 22, 2011

    Home Phone Connect sounds great. I would like to get this service/device. Tell me the price and tell me when??? When available for 96021?? I would like the family plan talk/text/unlimited, and the home phone connect. Or, I would like the single talk/text/unlimited and internet capable home phone connect. I would like the price of these (and perhaps the 4g modem if home phone connect is not internet capable.) Prices please. And if cheaper w/family plan then the prices of family plan.

    • daultine, you need to call Wirefly at 800-552-9000 to discuss your needs. The agent you speak to will be able to give you pricing and availability. Please give us a call and we’ll figure it all out.

      Bob at Wirefly

Comment

* indicates a required field. email will not be published

Become a Fan on Facebook Become a Fan
on Facebook.
Follow Wirefly on Twitter Follow Wirefly
on Twitter.
Discover Wirefly on YouTube Discover Wirefly
on YouTube.
Discover Wirefly on YouTube