How to Delete (or Deactivate) Your Facebook Account in 2021
Do you find yourself logging into Facebook every time you fire up your computer instead of getting your important tasks done? It's something that a lot of us deal with on a day to day basis. Maybe you still love the social media giant, but privacy breaches have become a concern for you. No matter what your reasoning is, it's easier than you might think to break things off with the network.
Before you make the decision to remove yourself from Facebook, you need to be aware that deactivating your account will remove your profile in it's entirety. This means any links or messages that have been posted to your wall will be eliminated, and your friends will no longer be able to follow you.
How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account
You don't have to completely delete your account if you don't want to. If you just need to deactivate your account temporarily because of deadlines or more important life events, Facebook makes it easy. Here's how:
If you're using a web browser, simply navigate to Settings > Security > Deactivate Your Account. Once you've chosen this option, Facebook will ask you to verify your password to make sure you haven't been hacked.
You can also deactivate your account through the Facebook mobile app on iPhone or Android by navigating to Settings > Account Settings > Security > Account Deactivate.
By completing these steps, you will be disabling your profile, which removes your photograph and name from most things you've shared. In most cases, your name will appear as Facebook User on comments you've made in posts. Your friends will still be able to view messages you've sent to them, but they will not be able to reply.
If you wish to use Facebook again, simply login to your account and it will be reactivated.
Unlike the deactivation process, Facebook doesn't make it east to delete your account on a permanent basis. In fact, if you want to delete your account, you will need to reach out to Facebook to request the deletion.
Once the account is deleted, it can take up to three-months for data stored in the Facebook backup systems to be deleted. Even though the information will still be there, nobody will be able to access it through your Facebook account.
The Facebook terms of service also stats that some material may remain in their databases for an undisclosed amount of time, but will not contain any type of personal identification. The statement is obscure and is defined only as log records.
As is the case with deactivation, logging into your account while it is being deleted will cancel the deletion and you will need to start all over.
If you decide to cancel your account, it might be a good idea to download a full copy of all your Facebook data by navigating to Settings > General > Download a Copy of Your Facebook Data > Start My Archive.
Wirefly Is America's Most Trusted Source For All Cell Phones, Plans, TV, and Internet Deals
Wirefly offers great deals on a large selection of smartphones, cell phones, tablets, mobile hotspots, and other wireless devices for the nation's most popular carriers. Use Wirefly’s innovative cell phone and plan comparison tools to ensure you are getting the best deal on the market. Shop with confidence knowing that Wirefly wants to help you find the best prices on cell phones, cell phone plans, TV, and Internet service.